Uncategorized

10K training and going for it (or, Feel The Fear and Do It Anyway)

I’ve signed up to a 10K on 7th of June. That’s 6 weeks away. That’s 6 weeks of dreading every session I do for just how much I know it’s going to hurt.

I’ve given myself a pretty big goal of going under 40 minutes, which is 2 minutes and 59 seconds faster than my current 10K PB.  3 minutes doesn’t sound much, but in 10K terms it’s a massive ask, and having foolishly given myself only 6 weeks to train for it, I’m not massively optimistic of getting a time starting with the elusive ‘3’.  But I’m going to give it a go – you never know what you can do until you try!

Training over the next 6 weeks mostly consists of running faster than I am comfortable with. I will be doing 2 interval sessions a week. That’s 2 doses of track (treadmill) dread more than I really want.  I am also expected to run sub 7 minute miles for about an hour for my threshold sessions: something I’m not entirely sure I can do.  I have never even come in under 20 minutes for parkrun – so technically I’m not actually ready or capable of running as fast as I am intending to.

I’m really scared about the 7th of June: I’m really scared about needing to run that fast.

I’m actually just really scared of failing.

But sometimes you’ve got to suck it up and Feel The Fear and Do It Anyway.  See you on the other side.

2 thoughts on “10K training and going for it (or, Feel The Fear and Do It Anyway)

  1. You are incredible!! I have the same goal as you, although I haven’t picked my goal race yet. Massive respect for sticking your head above the parapet…..I think you know that I really applaud that in people. Whatever happens, you will get faster and be stronger than you are now as a result of the training you’ll do over the next 6 weeks.

    Really looking forward to watching your progress – go for it!!

Leave a Reply

