Uncategorized

When things work out alright in the end.

It’s been a while since I blogged, and I’d love to be able to write about my running… but I’ve just not been running.  My right ankle hasn’t been right since the half iron in July, and although I did a week of marathon training in early September, since then, I’ve run about 6 miles in total. I went for an ultra sound at the AECC Chiropractic College in Bournemouth, and un/fortunately it showed nothing… in fact, I was told my ligaments were “beautiful”. So I am still none the wiser as to why it is giving me so much grief.  I’m going to go for an x-ray soon, just to rule the dreaded s-fracture out, as even my magic chiro, Leah, can’t work out why it’s being such a nuisance.

That’s not to say I’ve not been doing anything. I’ve been doing lifting again – following the plan in “Lift like a man; look like a goddess”, and I’m enjoying it. I’ve also been swimming and spinning – it’s nice to have a routine again! And I have a routine again because…

I have a new job! After thinking I was going to up sticks and move to Chester, I haven’t – at the very last minute, I landed my dream job in Brighton. And so everything worked out in the end!

I am back in my old department but in a different team, and I love it. The role means that I get to travel quite a bit, and so I’m going to have to learn to workout on the move. So far I’ve been very disappointed by the standard of gym in the hotels I’ve stayed – in Barcelona I couldn’t figure out how to turn the lights on, so did my session in the dark and in Madrid, they’d forgotten to add air to the room.  I’ll manage though, and once I’m running again, it’ll be great to run around the cities I get to travel to.

********************************************************

You’d think that this ankle injury would be doing my head in – and it is – but I am much more relaxed about the whole thing than I ever have been before. I had to pull out of running the Dublin marathon with Team Rainbow, which was really sad, but I wasn’t as gutted about it as I thought I was going to be. I’ve had a really great year of events – training for the London marathon and the Marlow half ironman was amazingly injury free, and the races themselves were more brilliant than I ever could have imagined.

I’m going to give myself a rest. I’ve run 5 marathons since 2011, and it’s probably time – since I seem to just be a magnet for injury! – to have a break. I’m not going to do any spring marathons and spend the next 6 months focusing on getting fast and strong. I think I am going to do the Chichester 10K in February, and try and get as near to 40 minutes as I can… I’ll also be going to parkrun a lot more, and smash that 20 minute barrier.  I’ll be lifting and rehabing and stretching and generally building myself up again.  I’m going to try and persuade Mark to do the Istanbul marathon with me this time next year, and possible do Snowdonia, as Laura and Cakey found it so brilliant.

The big goal, however, will be an iron distance race in the summer of 2016.  At the moment, I have my eye on the Ironman in Sweden, in Kalmar. It looks stunning, and would mean a holiday to Sweden – winner!  I know, though, that if I am even going to be able to do an iron race, I have to start training in the best possible shape, and the only way I am going to manage that is by having a rest. I am only 24 – I have a lot of time to play with!

2 thoughts on “When things work out alright in the end.

Leave a Reply

