Uncategorized

Fortune Favours the Brave

After over 1,500 miles of training, 12 weeks and lots of snacking, the big day is finally just around the corner! On Sunday morning, Mark and I will be diving into the Thames and then racing for the whole morning, and then into a bit of lunchtime too.

It’s been so ace, this training for triathlon lark. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: I bloody LOVE tri. I’ve definitely found my sport. Netball and marathon running were fun, but triathlon is where it is at. I love training for the three disciplines, and I love how my body feels much stronger all over. My legs are happier than ever before – I’ve not been injured once, and haven’t felt the need to go for a sports massage or anything.

Sunday is going to be amazing, I can’t wait to be a part of the race. I’m nervous about the swim, as I’ve not really swum in open water properly before. I am worried that because my wetsuit isn’t a ‘triathlon’ wetsuit, I am really going to struggle to keep going to the whole distance. But it is what it is and I’ll just do my best. I’m hoping for a swim time of around 35 or 40 minutes, but who knows. I might get too freaked out by the other swimmers and end up swimming headfirst into a buoy.

The bike will be awesome – I just need to make sure I don’t go off to fast and MUST REMEMBER TO EAT. And also drink. Must drink, and try not to need to the toilet too badly. I know that I might be on the bike for 3 and a half hours, and that’s a really long time, so I hope there’s lots going on to keep me entertained, and that Mark doesn’t lap me.

I’m feeling pretty confident about the run – I know how to do that bit, after all. If I have remembered to eat on the bike then I’m pretty sure I’ll be alright, and have secret dreams of running a pretty good time, as I’ve run well off the bike in our practice brick sessions. If I forget to eat though, it could be a very painful amble home…

The main plan for day is to manage to get my wetsuit off in transition, not fall off my bike and remember to eat.

Bring it on, Marlow – I gots this!

3 thoughts on “Fortune Favours the Brave

Leave a Reply

