Uncategorized

It’s just gonna be like any long run…

There’s just a parkrun to go now.

 

An awful lot of hours have been spent running and I’ve run over 800 miles in 18 weeks.

I’ve been more careful about stretching; I’ve bought recovery powder and started taking BCAAs. I’ve foam rolled less and discovered the miracle that is the hot water bottle.

I’ve bought my outfit, I’ve tested the shorts, I’ve tested the visor, I’ve tested the vest.

I’ve been nervous as hell, excited as hell and my legs. My head and my heart are now raring to go.

I’ve worked hard and made sacrifices and got through a couple of pairs of trainers.

I have hardly missed any training sessions, and despite the ten days of battling quadzilla and a very disappointing Brighton half marathon, these 18 weeks have gone as well as they could have gone.

I want to run under 3 hours and 30 minutes, and I know that I can do it. I believe I can do it: the people I love most and know me best believe I can do it. I know what I need to do, and so I just need to do it.

I have learnt during the past 18 weeks to really fall in love with running, and learnt a lot about what is possible for me; what my body is capable of. I have learnt the most about what my mind is capable of. I can switch off: zone out and just run, run like I never used to think I could do.

I can’t wait to get started on Sunday. I have faith that it’s going to go how I want it to. I am under no illusion it’s going to be easy, but I know it’ll be worth it and I am going to run how I want to and get the result all these weeks of training have earned.

 

Good luck to all running on Sunday, and well done to everyone that ran a marathon last weekend. Watching Brighton reminded me just how tough, but how amazing running a marathon is. I can’t wait. Cannot WAIT.

 

P.S I am number 29027 (GREEN) and wearing very short, very pink shorts. Keep your eyes peeled, sports fans!

 

3 thoughts on “It’s just gonna be like any long run…

Leave a Reply

