Uncategorized

London update

I’ve made it very clear that I’d like to run a marathon under three and a half hours, and one day I will. One day. But it’s beginning to seem very doubtful that I will run one on the 13th of April 2014…

It all started so well – my training was going well and I was really enjoying running every day and finishing the week knowing that I’d clocked up some big miles and gaining lots of fitness. The tempo runs and interval sessions were going well too – the paces were coming really easily, and each week I felt stronger and faster.

Then my quad went. I won’t bore you with it all (partly because I don’t know what’s wrong!) but something’s happened to the upper part of my right leg that means my running has been knocked way off kilter. I ran the Brighton half marathon on Sunday (with the lovely Anna) and took it easy, and the whole way round it was bothering me. I’ve been resting and icing and heating, all the things you’re meant to do and although it is feeling better and I can walk properly now – hallelujah! – I know it’s going to be another week or so before I can and should run properly … which means there will only be 4/5 weeks until London. 

I know I’ll run the marathon this year – there’s no doubt in my mind I will be on that start line and then crossing that finishing line, but I am also trying to be realistic and accept that this may not be the year I’ll nab that dream time. This is my ‘sub-3’, and it’s going to be hard for me to run a 3.30, so with 4 or so weeks of dodgy training, I know it’s not very likely to happen.

BUT

I am suddenly OK with this! I am very competitive with myself, and want to do my best at absolutely everything all of the time, but I am accepting that this isn’t always possible, and I need to get over myself. I will try my hardest, fo’sho, but if I finish over three hours and thirty minutes, that’s alright! I am only 24 – I’ve got my best yet to come! I’m driven and very determined and stupidly stubborn, and so I’ll have my 3.29.59 one day – watch this space!

 

Image

– Chrissie Wellington posted this on Twitter the other day: and if she says it, it must be true!

 

7 thoughts on “London update

  1. I love this. Such a great attitude to have! I recently heard a great quote, “We over estimate what we can do in 1 year but under estimate what we can do in 2 years.” Keep working this hard and you’ll be sub 3:30 and then some!

  2. Ah so true! Your best running years are waaay ahead of you. I’ve been exactly the same. I keep feeling guilty for missing speed/ tempo sessions and just doing short slow mid week runs instead, cos of my knee. But got to concentrate on the long term; I want to be 65 and blitzing those Parkruns on strong legs! Continue being fabulous you crazy bear.

  3. Atta girl. Stay positive, keep training, stay smart and come to me for a w(h)ine whenever you need. You got this, whether this year or next, you got this! xxx

Leave a Reply

