Uncategorized

Missing: one mojo.

Real life is hard, man!

I have been in my new, real, proper, grown up job for over 2 months now. I am enjoying it – I like being in the office, I like being on the road and I like doing presentations. Which is good, because that’s what my job is.

I have been determined to keep up my fitness routine, and have managed it – for the most part. I’ll drag myself to the gym in the morning before work to get it done, take myself off at lunchtime for a run and tire myself out in an after work spin session.

The last couple of weeks I’ve been doing a fair bit of travelling around the country, and it has meant my routine has taken a hit. I am more tired than normal, and I don’t have time to fit it in. This really gets me down. I feel like I’ve failed if I am either too tired to do it, or if I’ve just run out of time in the day to squeeze a bit of a workout in.

This is ridiculous, I know, and everyone else has to move around real life too. It has just taken some getting used to after having been a student and basically being able to organise my own life completely and utterly. I have always been busy but I have been able to prioritise things just how I want them prioritised, and my motivation and will power has taken a hit in these past couple of weeks.

No matter whether I have a routine or whether I just slot exercise in as and when I can, I need to get back on track because it’s now 6 months until the London Marathon 2014, and I want to nail this one – no injuries, no set backs. I need to relocate my mojo, and kick it into gear: time is short. I still haven’t sorted out my hip properly but I think all I need to do is focus on mobility and foam roll the sh*t out of it.

Motivation and drive isn’t usually something I struggle with, but tiredness is definitely my worst enemy.

 

Has anyone else lost their mojo when they’ve started somewhere or something new? How did you deal with it?

One thought on “Missing: one mojo.

  1. Welcome to the world of grown-ups. It’s not always fun and games but you, my lovely, have enough drive, motivation and oomph to take on the real world, kick its bootey and then go on to conquer it. Yes, it’s tough fitting in old stuff into your new routine. But remember, if you want something done well and quickly, give it to a busy woman! You can do it. xx

Leave a Reply

